Retrovirology and McFarlin Awards

Retrovirology and McFarlin Awards presented at the 15th International Conference on Human Retrovirology

At the recently concluded 15th International Conference on Human Retrovirology: HTLV and Related viruses (June 4-8, 2011, Belgium), Retrovirology recognized Professor Luc Willems, Research Director, Molecular and Cellular Biology Lab, Gembloux and Professor University Liege with its HTLV research and leadership award. The biennial Retrovirology sponsored HTLV-1 Award has been awarded previously to Mitsuaki Yoshida, Charles Bangham, and Carlos Brites.

Presentation of the Retrovirology HTLV Award (left to right) Luc Willems, Kuan-Teh Jeang (editor in Chief, Retrovirology), Ali Bazerbachi (award committee chair) and Veffa Franchini (International Retrovirology Association president)

At the same meeting, Kuan-Teh Jeang (Editor-in-Chief, Retrovirology) received the International Retrovirology Association’s (IRA) Dale McFarlin Memorial Award. This Award is the leading recognition of the Association, which honors the memory of Dale McFarlin, M.D. who was the Chief of the Neuroimmunology Branch at the National Institutes of Neurological Diseases and Stroke. Previous winners of the McFarlin Award have included the following individuals: Robert C. Gallo, Kiyoshi Takatsuki, William Hall, Steve Jacobson and Toshiki Watanabe. 

Presentation of the Dale McFarlin Award to Kuan-Teh Jeang (left) by award chair Ali Bazerbachi (right).

Posted on behalf of Dr Kuan-Teh Jeang – Editor-in-Chief Retrovirology

Srimathy Sriskantharajah

Srimathy Sriskantharajah completed a BSc in Microbiology (UCL) and a PhD in environmental microbiology/ atmospheric chemistry (Royal Holloway University of London) before joining BioMed Central. Srimathy blogs about microbiology, infectious diseases and the environment amongst other things.

Srimathy is the Executive Publisher for Parasites & Vectors, Malaria Journal and other microbiology/ infectious diseases journals at BioMed Central.
Srimathy Sriskantharajah

View the latest posts on the On Biology homepage